People wonder why I’ve been very selective in posts the better part of this year. Well truthfully, I wanted to focus on the field research and getting boots on the ground rather than getting into the middle of the incessant quarrels within the Bigfoot Research Community.

But it is time to let people exactly know where I stand. This is how I feel, some of this not based on any fact, but rather opinion and gut feeling but some is too.

So let’s look at some of the classic or more philosophic debates:


rifle

Kill versus No-Kill: I have always been on the side of peacefully obtaining the evidence to prove the creatures existence. But I also know the absolute way of proving the existence of a Sasquatch is with a specimen. Science may actually demand it. The folks on the side of Kill, included the late Dr. Grover Krantz.

Still I won’t be the one to bring in a dead specimen.


ghosts

Flesh and Blood versus Paranormal: Okay probably the argument that gets the most people heated. Listen I stand in the corner of, if it leaves tracks, hair, amongst other alleged things, and it’s naked, I would say flesh and blood. Not wormholes, UFO’s or telepathic, telekinetic, cloaking, transplanted people. If so, where’s the evidence?

Nope… I’m a show me guy. Rene Dahinden once said of James “Kewanee” Lapseritis, “He had 250 encounters with Bigfoot in his mind… that’s like saying you’ve had 250 sexual encounters but never got laid.”


29-Gigantopithecus-model_lg

Hominid versus Pongid: This is one of those categories where I really am not decided… could be either or something completely different. Gigantopithicus, Australiopithicus, Heidlebergensis, who knows? But we are talking primate.

So where on the primate tree it fits? I will wait for discovery and not venture a guess. But being a primate, that can tell us a lot as well.


Now for some of the newer arguments…


buck

Profit versus Non-Profit: There sometimes is an outcry by some in protest of conferences and people who charge for trips with them or their organization into the forests in search of our favorite cryptid. I see this in several different ways.

First, nobody is forcing anyone to pay anything for anything unless it’s under the title of the Affordable Healthcare Act. Truth is people pay for entertainment and experiences.  It’s also very common and accepted practice in the paranormal community.

I say to each to his own. (Personally as I have stated before I would never charge for folks to go on expedition with me, it would be my honor to have them along.)

Second, I feel if you pay me for something, you get something in return that’s tangible. A DVD, a book, something.

Lastly, if you do things legitimately, and above board I could care less, good luck and God speed.

Finally on this topic I would just like to say…Caveat Emptor!


Smalfut

The MK Davis/John L. Johnsen Massacre Theory: I include Johnsen in this because he was the first who went public about the theory, and at the time was working on a film with MK.

Now for those playing “catch-up,”

The theory states, based on some miniscule, split second coloration on the Patterson/Gimlin film that allegedly lends credence to Patterson and Gimlin alleged killing several if not more Sasquatch. Bottom line to me, sounds pretty thin, considering the evidence.

Sounds more conspiracy theory than fact. 


The Justin Smeja/Sierra Kills Saga: Justin Smeja kills a baby Sasquatch but gets guilt ridden and leaves it behind. Sounds crazy right? Well this one I’m on the fence on. There are things that intrinsically bug me about this.

I pucker every time someone says they’ve killed one but, oops don’t have the body.  100 percent of the time in the past it turned out to be BS… so the odds are not in favor here.

But on the same token, Smeja has showed moxie, passing a lie detector test, and has stuck to his story and has been doing everything and anything to get his boot sample tested. The people on the investigation side of this are tops.

On the fence, I won’t condemn someone for something I can’t prove. Like any other witness, “trust but verify.”

The verification, hopefully will be with the Sykes DNA study. If not we may never know.


The Melba Ketchum Study: Dr. Ketchum states the Sasquatch are a hybrid human. Not accepted by any of the scientific community. Ketchum cries foul, buys her own journal, publishes it when it’s been rejected.

Again the step out of the normal process, and some of the anthropological facts not meshing with her peer rejected study, leads me to conclude, I don’t feel good about it at all and sorry I can’t accept it as factual, at least at this time.


To sum it up

Yes I am sure I’ve missed some of the smaller arguments. Perhaps even a big one that has never crossed my path.

See the thing is, I feel no malice towards those whom are on the other side of the spectrum on these issues with me, because the bottom line is we are all in this for one goal, to prove the Sasquatch’s existence. We all have opinions and different beliefs and even reasons as to why we are in the search.

There are no experts amongst colleagues.

In fact some of the nicest people I’ve met, have been opposed in some beliefs that I have.

I encourage diversity, but also sanity as well. Don’t throw the baby out with the bath water.

Till Next Time,

Squatch-D

